Grain & Glue

Best Wood Glue for Woodworking

Seven bottles compared on the four numbers that matter — open time, water resistance, application temperature and food contact — plus the one to buy if you only ever buy one.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

This site is called Grain & Glue, and until today it had a guide to how glue works and nothing to say about which bottle to buy. That is backwards. Glue is the one consumable every first project uses, it is the cheapest thing in the shop, and the wrong bottle fails in ways you do not see for months — a cutting board that delaminates in the sink, a garage-built bench whose joints let go in the first cold snap.

Here is the lens we compare on, in order. Water resistance — whether the label claims nothing, ANSI Type II (water-resistant, fine for anything indoors or under cover) or ANSI/HPVA Type I (waterproof, for boards that get washed and furniture that gets rained on). Open time — the minutes between spreading glue and needing the clamps on, which is the spec that decides whether a six-board panel goes together calmly or in a panic. Minimum application temperature — because most of our readers work in a garage, and a garage in January is colder than every glue on this page allows. Food contact — whether the maker states an FDA indirect-food-contact approval, which is the difference between a cutting board and a decoration. And dried color, which is the difference between an invisible glue line on maple and a brown one.

Two honest notes. First, we have not glued test blocks and broken them. Every figure below was read from the seller’s listing or the manufacturer’s own product page on the date shown on each card, and where a maker does not publish a number the card says “Not listed” rather than guessing. Here is what we do instead of testing. Second, this page is about which bottle. For what open time and clamp time actually mean, why squeeze-out ruins finishes and why end grain does not glue, read our wood glue guide first — this page assumes it.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which tool we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on the specs that matter for a beginner and honest buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t hands-on-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Titebond II Premium Wood Glue, 16 oz (5004)

Titebond II Premium Wood Glue, 16 oz (5004)

The one bottle a first shop needs. Water-resistant enough for anything that lives indoors or under cover, approved for indirect food contact so it does cutting boards too, and it grabs fast enough that a beginner's clamps come off in an hour. If you buy one glue, buy this.

Best overall
$7.57 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Titebond III Ultimate Wood Glue, 16 oz (1414)

Titebond III Ultimate Wood Glue, 16 oz (1414)

The waterproof one, and quietly the most beginner-friendly of the three Titebonds: its open time is roughly double Titebond II's and it works down to 47°F. Buy it for cutting boards, anything that gets wet, or any glue-up you are nervous about finishing in time.

Best for cutting boards and outdoors
$9.58 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Titebond Original Wood Glue, 16 oz (5064)

Titebond Original Wood Glue, 16 oz (5064)

The plain yellow glue the industry standardized on, and the cheapest of the Titebonds. For indoor furniture, boxes and shop jigs it is every bit as strong as its siblings; it simply has no water resistance, so it is the wrong bottle for a cutting board or anything near a sink.

Best budget
$5.58 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Gorilla Wood Glue, 18 oz (6205001)

Gorilla Wood Glue, 18 oz (6205001)

Not the brown foaming Gorilla Glue — this is Gorilla's yellow PVA, and it is a straight Titebond II alternative: Type II water-resistant, indirect food contact per the maker, a 20-30 minute clamp time, and an 18-ounce bottle for roughly the price of a 16-ounce one. If it is what the store has, buy it without worry.

Best home-center alternative
$5.99 · View on Amazon

$7.4920% off

Price as of September 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Titebond Quick & Thick Multi-Surface Glue, 16 oz (2404)

Titebond Quick & Thick Multi-Surface Glue, 16 oz (2404)

A thick, fast-grabbing PVA for the joints ordinary glue runs out of: miters, end grain, trim, small parts and anything glued vertically. It is the second bottle, not the first — it is interior-only and fills small gaps rather than closing them.

Best for miters and small parts
$8.15 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Titebond Liquid Hide Glue, 8 oz (5013)

Titebond Liquid Hide Glue, 8 oz (5013)

Hide glue from a bottle, with no pot and no heating. Its ten-minute open time is the longest here, it sands and takes finish without leaving pale patches, and a joint made with it can be taken apart later with heat and water. Buy it for a complicated glue-up or a repair, not for everything.

Best for slow glue-ups and repairs
$8.39 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

7
Elmer's Carpenter's Wood Glue Max, Interior/Exterior, 16 oz (E7310)

Elmer's Carpenter's Wood Glue Max, Interior/Exterior, 16 oz (E7310)

The orange-cap bottle in every big-box aisle, and a perfectly good interior/exterior wood glue for a first project. Its real drawback is what it does not tell you: the listing states no open time, clamp time or water-resistance class, so you are trusting the label rather than a number.

Best fallback
$9.30 · View on Amazon

$11.4919% off

Price as of September 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Titebond II Premium Wood Glue, 16 oz (5004)

The one bottle a first shop needs. Water-resistant enough for anything that lives indoors or under cover, approved for indirect food contact so it does cutting boards too, and it grabs fast enough that a beginner's clamps come off in an hour. If you buy one glue, buy this.

Strengths

  • Passes ANSI Type II water resistance, so the same bottle covers indoor furniture, shop fixtures and covered outdoor work
  • FDA-approved for indirect food contact per the manufacturer — cutting boards do not need a separate glue
  • Strong initial tack and fast set: parts stop sliding quickly, and the manufacturer's clamp guidance is 30 minutes to an hour for an unstressed joint

Trade-offs

  • Open assembly time is only 3-5 minutes at 70°F, which is tight for a panel with more than three or four boards
  • Needs the glue, the air and the wood above 55°F — an unheated garage in winter is below that for months
  • Dries a translucent yellow, which can show as a line on pale woods like maple
TypeWater-resistant PVA wood glue
In the setSingle tool
Material / buildCross-linking polyvinyl acetate (PVA)
Key spec16 fl oz; ANSI Type II water-resistant; open time 3-5 min
Best forBest overall — the only glue most beginners need

Worth knowing. The listing states 16 oz, honey cream color, model 5004, heat and solvent resistant, sandable, paintable and non-toxic, and that it was the first one-part wood glue to pass ANSI Type II water resistance. Open time (3-5 minutes), total assembly time (10-15 minutes), the 55°F minimum application temperature, the FDA indirect-food-contact approval, the 24-month shelf life and the 'not for continuous submersion or structural use' limits come from Titebond's own product page, fetched September 18, 2026.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not listed” means the listing doesn’t state that figure.

#2Best for cutting boards and outdoors

Titebond III Ultimate Wood Glue, 16 oz (1414)

The waterproof one, and quietly the most beginner-friendly of the three Titebonds: its open time is roughly double Titebond II's and it works down to 47°F. Buy it for cutting boards, anything that gets wet, or any glue-up you are nervous about finishing in time.

Strengths

  • Passes ANSI/HPVA Type I — the waterproof class — so it handles outdoor furniture and boards that get washed
  • 8-10 minute open time and 20-25 minute total assembly time at 70°F, the longest of the three Titebond PVAs
  • Application temperature above 47°F, the lowest of the three, which matters in a garage shop in spring and fall

Trade-offs

  • Dries a light brown line, which is more visible than Titebond II on pale woods
  • Costs more per ounce than Titebond II for a difference most indoor projects will never notice
  • Still not for continuous submersion, below-the-waterline or structural use — 'waterproof' has limits the label spells out
TypeWaterproof wood glue
In the setSingle tool
Material / buildAdvanced proprietary polymer (one-part, water cleanup)
Key spec16 fl oz; ANSI/HPVA Type I waterproof; open time 8-10 min
Best forBest for cutting boards, outdoor projects and slow glue-ups

Worth knowing. The listing states 16 oz, tan color, model 1414, a bond stronger than the wood, heat resistance, easy sanding, water cleanup while wet, strong initial tack with a 30-minute clamp time and ASTM D4236 conformance. The Type I rating, open time (8-10 minutes), total assembly time (20-25 minutes), the 47°F minimum application temperature, the FDA indirect-food-contact approval and the light brown dried film color come from Titebond's own product page, fetched September 18, 2026.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not listed” means the listing doesn’t state that figure.

#3Best budget

Titebond Original Wood Glue, 16 oz (5064)

The plain yellow glue the industry standardized on, and the cheapest of the Titebonds. For indoor furniture, boxes and shop jigs it is every bit as strong as its siblings; it simply has no water resistance, so it is the wrong bottle for a cutting board or anything near a sink.

Strengths

  • Usually the cheapest of the three Titebond glues per bottle, with the same stronger-than-the-wood bond for interior joints
  • Slightly longer open time than Titebond II (4-6 minutes) and excellent sandability
  • Dries translucent, so the glue line is less visible than II or III on pale woods

Trade-offs

  • Not water-resistant at all — the manufacturer says not for exterior use or where moisture is likely
  • No food-contact approval is stated for it, unlike Titebond II and III, so it is not the one for cutting boards
  • The difference in price to Titebond II is small enough that most beginners should just buy II and cover both cases
TypeInterior PVA wood glue
In the setSingle tool
Material / buildAliphatic resin emulsion
Key spec16 fl oz; interior only; open time 4-6 min
Best forBest budget glue for indoor-only work

Worth knowing. The listing states 16 oz, yellow, model 5064, an aliphatic resin glue that is not waterproof, made in the United States. Open time (4-6 minutes), total assembly time (10-15 minutes), the 50°F minimum application temperature, the translucent dried film and the 'not for exterior use or where moisture is likely' limit come from Titebond's own product page, fetched September 18, 2026; that page states no food-contact approval.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not listed” means the listing doesn’t state that figure.

#4Best home-center alternative

Gorilla Wood Glue, 18 oz (6205001)

Not the brown foaming Gorilla Glue — this is Gorilla's yellow PVA, and it is a straight Titebond II alternative: Type II water-resistant, indirect food contact per the maker, a 20-30 minute clamp time, and an 18-ounce bottle for roughly the price of a 16-ounce one. If it is what the store has, buy it without worry.

Strengths

  • Passes ANSI/HPVA Type II water resistance and the maker states it complies with FDA indirect-food-contact rules once cured
  • Manufacturer clamp time of 20-30 minutes and a 24-hour cure, and it cures a natural tan with no foaming
  • 18 oz bottle — two ounces more than the standard Titebond size

Trade-offs

  • Gorilla does not publish an open time, so you are working blind on a large glue-up
  • Manufacturer application range is a narrow 55-75°F, which rules out a cold garage and a hot one
  • Easy to confuse with Gorilla's polyurethane 'Original' glue on the same shelf, which behaves completely differently
TypeWater-resistant PVA wood glue
In the setSingle tool
Material / buildWater-based PVA
Key spec18 fl oz; ANSI/HPVA Type II water-resistant; clamp 20-30 min
Best forBest Titebond II alternative from the home center

Worth knowing. The listing states an 18 oz bottle, model 6205001, a water-resistant PVA that passes ANSI/HPVA Type II, 20-30 minutes of clamp time and a 24-hour full cure, use indoors or outdoors, a natural tan cure with no foaming, and water cleanup. The 55-75°F application range, the 'under covered area' outdoor caveat and the FDA 21 CFR 175.105 indirect-food-contact statement come from Gorilla's own product page, fetched September 18, 2026; that page lists no open time.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not listed” means the listing doesn’t state that figure.

#5Best for miters and small parts

Titebond Quick & Thick Multi-Surface Glue, 16 oz (2404)

A thick, fast-grabbing PVA for the joints ordinary glue runs out of: miters, end grain, trim, small parts and anything glued vertically. It is the second bottle, not the first — it is interior-only and fills small gaps rather than closing them.

Strengths

  • Manufacturer states 3x the thickness and 2x the speed of a standard PVA, so it stays where you put it and grabs fast
  • Dries clear and is unaffected by finishes, which suits visible small joints and trim
  • Bonds wood to pottery, stone, glass, fabric and leather as well, so it earns a place beyond the shop

Trade-offs

  • Interior only — the manufacturer says not for exterior use or where moisture is likely
  • Fills small gaps, which tempts beginners to accept a sloppy joint that a properly fitted one would have outlasted
  • Its fast grab and 3-5 minute open time leave no room to reposition a large panel
TypeThick fast-set PVA glue
In the setSingle tool
Material / buildHigh-viscosity water-based PVA
Key spec16 fl oz; interior only; 3x thickness of standard PVA
Best forBest for miters, end grain, trim and small parts

Worth knowing. The listing states 16 oz, model 2404, a formula 3x the thickness and 2x the speed of traditional PVAs, multi-surface bonding, a clear paintable dried finish, small gap filling, good sandability on wood, low odor and water cleanup. Open time (3-5 minutes), total assembly time (10-15 minutes), the 50°F minimum application temperature, the 36,500 cps viscosity and the 'interior projects only' limit come from Titebond's own product page, fetched September 18, 2026.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not listed” means the listing doesn’t state that figure.

#6Best for slow glue-ups and repairs

Titebond Liquid Hide Glue, 8 oz (5013)

Hide glue from a bottle, with no pot and no heating. Its ten-minute open time is the longest here, it sands and takes finish without leaving pale patches, and a joint made with it can be taken apart later with heat and water. Buy it for a complicated glue-up or a repair, not for everything.

Strengths

  • 10-minute open time and 20-30 minute total assembly at 70°F — the most forgiving schedule on this page
  • Reversible: the manufacturer describes its moisture sensitivity as allowing easy disassembly, which is why restorers use it
  • Excellent sandability and creep resistance per the manufacturer, and it is unaffected by finishes

Trade-offs

  • The same moisture sensitivity means it is strictly interior — not for exterior use or where moisture is likely
  • Slow to set, so parts need to stay clamped and undisturbed longer than with a PVA
  • An 8 oz bottle is small, and it is not the glue to buy first
TypeLiquid hide glue
In the setSingle tool
Material / buildReady-to-use liquid hide glue
Key spec8 fl oz; open time 10 min; reversible with heat and moisture
Best forBest for complex glue-ups and reversible repairs

Worth knowing. The listing states 8 oz, model 5013, made in the United States, slow set for precise assembly, fine furniture repair, a 'crackling' effect, excellent sandability and that it is unaffected by finishes. Open time (10 minutes), total assembly time (20-30 minutes), the 50°F minimum application temperature, the ready-to-use no-heating form, the disassembly note and the interior-only limit come from Titebond's own Genuine Hide Glue product page (which covers item 5013), fetched September 18, 2026.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not listed” means the listing doesn’t state that figure.

#7Best fallback

Elmer's Carpenter's Wood Glue Max, Interior/Exterior, 16 oz (E7310)

The orange-cap bottle in every big-box aisle, and a perfectly good interior/exterior wood glue for a first project. Its real drawback is what it does not tell you: the listing states no open time, clamp time or water-resistance class, so you are trusting the label rather than a number.

Strengths

  • Rated by the maker for interior and exterior use, and states it resists heat, mold and mildew
  • Sandable, paintable, non-toxic with no harmful fumes, and cleans up with water
  • Widely stocked at hardware stores, supermarkets and pharmacies when nothing else is

Trade-offs

  • The listing does not state an open time, a clamp time or an ANSI water-resistance type, so those specs read 'Not listed' here
  • No food-contact statement on the listing, so it is not the one we would pick for a cutting board
  • Typically no cheaper than Titebond II on Amazon, which publishes all of the numbers Elmer's does not
TypeInterior/exterior wood glue
In the setSingle tool
Material / buildNot listed
Key spec16 fl oz; interior/exterior; open and clamp time not listed
Best forBest fallback when the store only stocks Elmer's

Worth knowing. The listing states model E7310, 16 oz, interior and exterior use, an extra-strength wood adhesive that resists heat, mold and mildew, non-toxic with no harmful fumes, water cleanup, sandable and paintable. It states no open time, clamp time, application temperature or water-resistance class, and Elmer's own product page could not be fetched (HTTP 403) on September 18, 2026, so nothing beyond the listing is claimed for it.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not listed” means the listing doesn’t state that figure.

The three Titebonds, and why the numbers beat the names

Most of this page is Titebond, because most of the shelf is Titebond and because Franklin, the company that makes it, publishes the specifications the others do not. That matters more than brand loyalty. A glue with a stated open time, a stated minimum temperature and a stated water-resistance class is a glue you can plan a glue-up around. One that just says “extra strength” is not.

The three main bottles are not good, better, best. They are three different sets of trade-offs, and the numbers are all on Titebond’s product pages:

  • Original (yellow, item 5064 for 16 oz). Interior only — the maker says not for exterior use or where moisture is likely. Open assembly time 4-6 minutes, total assembly 10-15 minutes, apply above 50°F. Dries translucent, so it is the least visible of the three on pale wood. No food-contact approval is stated.
  • II Premium (honey cream, item 5004). ANSI Type II water-resistant. Open time 3-5 minutes, total assembly 10-15 minutes, apply above 55°F. FDA-approved for indirect food contact. Dries a translucent yellow.
  • III Ultimate (tan, item 1414). ANSI/HPVA Type I waterproof. Open time 8-10 minutes, total assembly 20-25 minutes, apply above 47°F. FDA-approved for indirect food contact. Dries light brown — the most visible glue line of the three.

Read those again and a pattern shows: the waterproof one is also the slowest and the most cold-tolerant, which are the two things a beginner in a garage actually struggles with. That is why we say Titebond III is quietly the friendliest of the three even though it is not our top pick — it costs more per ounce, and its brown line shows on maple, ash and birch. If you build in pale woods, that trade is real. If you build in walnut, cherry or oak, it is not.

Water resistance: Type I, Type II and “none”

The classes are worth understanding once, because the labels lean on them. ANSI/HPVA Type II is a soak test: Titebond’s own description is glued blocks soaked for four hours, then baked at 120°F for 19 hours, for three cycles, and the bond must not delaminate. That is the humidity swing of a covered porch, a bathroom or a kitchen. Type I is the four-hour boil test, and it is the standard people mean when they say “waterproof”. A glue with no class stated is an interior glue, however strong the bond is when dry.

Two caveats the labels are honest about and beginners skip. Even Type I is, in Titebond’s own words, not for continuous submersion or use below the waterline — waterproof is not the same as marine. And none of these glues is rated for structural or load-bearing use; a deck or a stair stringer is fastened, not glued, which is a distinction our joinery vs fastening page spends a whole article on.

For a first shop the practical rule is simple. If anything you build might live outside, get wet, or be washed, the extra dollars for Type I are the cheapest insurance in woodworking. If nothing will, Type II covers you and Original saves a little. Do not buy Original for a cutting board.

Open time is the spec that ruins glue-ups

Open assembly time is the window between spreading the glue and closing the joint. Total assembly time is the window before the clamps must be tight. Titebond states both for every glue, always at 70°F and 50 percent humidity — hotter and drier shortens them, cooler and damper stretches them a little.

Here is why it matters. Edge-gluing a tabletop from five boards means spreading glue on eight edges, lining up five boards, placing four or five clamps and checking the panel is flat. Doing that inside Titebond II’s 3-5 minute open window is possible, and the first time you try it you will not manage it. Titebond III’s 8-10 minutes is forgiving; liquid hide glue’s 10 minutes and 20-30 minute total assembly is positively relaxed. Our panel glue-up guide covers the dry run and the clamp sequence that make the window feel longer, and our clamping without enough clamps page covers what to do when the clamps are the bottleneck.

The reverse is also true. For a small box, a picture frame or a single butt joint, a long open time is a wait, not a benefit, and a fast-grabbing glue lets you move on. That is the whole case for Quick & Thick below.

The garage temperature problem

Every glue here has a minimum application temperature, and the maker means the glue, the air and the wood. Titebond’s figures: Original and Quick & Thick above 50°F, II above 55°F, III above 47°F, hide glue above 50°F. Gorilla states a 55-75°F range for its wood glue. Elmer’s listing states nothing.

Titebond calls the minimum the chalk temperature, and its glossary explains why: a glue that dries too cold takes on a “chalky white appearance”, “does not knit together properly and the resulting bond is likely to fail”. The joint can look closed, sand flush and still let go. For a garage shop in a northern state, that means roughly November to March is out of range for every bottle on this page unless you do something about it. The practical answers are in our garage heating and cooling guide: bring the boards and the bottle indoors the night before, glue up early in the day so the joint stays warm while it cures, and treat the glue-up as the reason to run the heater, not the finishing.

Two smaller points from the same pages. Titebond states its PVAs are freeze-thaw stable, so a Titebond bottle that froze once in the garage is not automatically ruined — its FAQ says thickened glue is restored by shaking — but check it has not gone stringy or lumpy, and keep it indoors regardless. And the stated shelf life is 24 months, with Original and II usually usable beyond that. Buy the 16-ounce bottle, not the gallon, and you will use it before either matters.

Cutting boards and food contact

A cutting board is the most common first project on this site, and it is the one where the glue choice is not optional. The board gets washed, so it needs Type I or at least Type II; a knife works the surface, so the glue must be safe once cured. Titebond’s FAQ is explicit that Titebond III and Titebond II are the two it has approved for indirect food contact and the two it recommends for cutting boards. Gorilla states its wood glue complies with FDA 21 CFR 175.105 for indirect food contact once cured. Titebond Original states no such approval, and neither does the Elmer’s Max listing.

So for a board: Titebond III if you can, Titebond II or Gorilla Wood Glue if that is what you have, and nothing else on this page. The rest of the board — edge matching, clamp pressure, flattening and the food-safe oil finish — is in our cutting board guide, and the oil to finish it with is in the finish picks.

Gorilla, Elmer’s and the big-box aisle

The two questions we hear most are “is Gorilla wood glue as good as Titebond?” and “is Elmer’s fine?” The honest answers are yes, and probably.

Gorilla Wood Glue is not the brown, foaming polyurethane most people picture when they hear the brand. It is a yellow PVA, and on paper it is Titebond II’s twin: ANSI/HPVA Type II, indirect-food-contact compliance stated by the maker, a 20-30 minute clamp time and a 24-hour cure, a natural tan cure with no foaming. The bottle is 18 ounces to Titebond’s 16. Its two gaps are that Gorilla publishes no open time, and its stated application range is a narrow 55-75°F. If it is what the store has, buy it. Just check the cap says wood glue.

Elmer’s Carpenter’s Wood Glue Max is the orange-cap bottle in every hardware store, supermarket and pharmacy. The listing says interior and exterior, resists heat, mold and mildew, sandable, paintable, non-toxic, water cleanup. What it does not say is an open time, a clamp time, a minimum temperature or a water-resistance class, and Elmer’s own product page would not load for us on the day we wrote this, so we claim nothing beyond the listing. It is a perfectly serviceable glue for a first shelf. It is not the one we would reach for on a board or a cold morning, simply because we cannot tell you the numbers.

The specialists: Quick & Thick and liquid hide glue

Two more bottles earn a place, but as a second purchase.

Titebond Quick & Thick is a PVA the maker describes as three times the thickness and twice the speed of a standard one. In practice that means it stays on a vertical surface, grabs fast, fills small gaps and dries clear. It is the glue for a mitered picture frame, a piece of trim, a repair to a chipped corner, or small parts you want to hold by hand for a minute rather than clamp. It is strictly interior, and its gap-filling is a temptation: a joint that needs gap filling is a joint that was cut wrong, and our wood joints guide explains why a tight joint with thin glue always outlasts a loose one with thick.

Titebond Liquid Hide Glue is traditional hide glue in a ready-to-use bottle — no pot, no heating. Its open time of 10 minutes is the longest here, it is unaffected by finishes so a smear you miss does not leave a pale patch, and its sensitivity to moisture means a joint can be taken apart later with heat and water, which is why furniture restorers use it. That same sensitivity makes it interior-only, and it is slower to set than a PVA. Buy it when a glue-up has more parts than you can close in five minutes, or when you are repairing a chair you might need to repair again.

The glues that are not here are polyurethane (the foaming Gorilla Original), CA (superglue) and epoxy. None is a first wood glue: all three are covered, with their real uses, in the wood glue guide.

The glue kit: what goes with the bottle

A bottle of glue is the cheapest item in this table, and it is the only one you strictly need. The rest are what turns a fumbling first glue-up into a calm one.

ToolWhy you need itPrice
Titebond II Premium Wood Glue, 16 oz (5004)
Titebond II Premium Wood Glue, 16 oz (5004)
The one bottle. Swap for Titebond III if the project will get wet or you want more open time.$7.57
Rockler 7 in Silicone Glue Brush (45624)
Rockler 7 in Silicone Glue Brush (45624)
Spreads an even film across an edge in one pass; dried glue peels off it the next morning. Replaces every disposable brush.$7.99
Milescraft 5223 Glue Mate 450 Precision Wood Glue Bottle, 15 oz
Milescraft 5223 Glue Mate 450 Precision Wood Glue Bottle, 15 oz
Optional. A refillable bottle with dowel and biscuit tips that dispenses at any angle. Worth it once you are gluing up often.$6.89
Bessey GSCC2.536 Clutch-Style Bar Clamp, 36 in
Bessey GSCC2.536 Clutch-Style Bar Clamp, 36 in
The clamp for panels and anything wider than a hand. Glue is only half a glue-up; buy two, then two more.$21.99
Irwin Quick-Grip One-Handed Mini Bar Clamp (4-Pack)
Irwin Quick-Grip One-Handed Mini Bar Clamp (4-Pack)
One-handed clamps for holding small parts while the glue grabs, so your second hand is free for the next piece.$32.99
Bahco 474 Cabinet Scraper, 125 x 62 x 0.80 mm
Bahco 474 Cabinet Scraper, 125 x 62 x 0.80 mm
Removes rubbery squeeze-out cleanly 20-40 minutes in, without smearing it into the grain the way a wet rag does.$13.24
Starter kit subtotal $90.67

Live Amazon prices as of September 19, 2026; they change, and we don’t display stale numbers — a tool with no live price shows “Check price” and is left out of the subtotal. #ad How we’re funded.

Every row apart from the glue and the two applicators is already a pick on our clamp or card scraper pages, so a reader who has followed them owns most of the table already.

Clamp time, cure time, and when to stop worrying

The numbers get muddled because there are three of them. Titebond’s FAQ gives the two that matter for the whole family: clamp an unstressed joint for thirty minutes to an hour, clamp a stressed joint for 24 hours, and do not stress any new joint for at least 24 hours. Gorilla states 20-30 minutes in the clamps and a 24-hour cure. The individual open and total assembly times above are the third number, and they run before the clamps go on, not after.

“Unstressed” is doing real work in that sentence. A panel lying flat on the bench after the clamps come off is unstressed. A chair leg, a shelf with books on it, or a joint you are going to plane flush an hour later is not. When in doubt, leave the clamps on and go do something else; nothing on this page is harmed by an extra hour.

One more thing the FAQ is worth quoting for. Oily species — teak, cedar, redwood — glue poorly unless the surface is planed, jointed or sanded shortly before the glue goes on, which Titebond says removes “the contaminating layer”. Our wood species guide lists which of the common home-center boards this applies to.

How much to buy, and where to keep it

Sixteen ounces. A beginner’s first year of boxes, shelves and a bench uses less glue than you think, and Titebond’s stated shelf life is 24 months from a sealed bottle stored at 75°F. A gallon jug is cheaper per ounce and will go thick, sour or frozen long before it is empty. Keep the bottle indoors, cap on, tip wiped — a hardened plug in the nozzle is the most common reason a bottle gets thrown out with three-quarters left.

If you do end up decanting from a bigger bottle, that is what the Milescraft applicator in the table is for. Fill it, cap the tips, and the jug stays sealed.

The one to buy first

Buy a 16-ounce Titebond II. It is water-resistant, food-contact approved, fast, cheap and on every shelf, and it will glue every first project this site describes. Then, the first time you build something that gets wet or you find yourself racing the clock on a panel, buy a Titebond III and keep both.

Then glue something. A cutting board is nothing but glue joints and a finish, and a simple workbench is where most of a first bottle goes.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best wood glue for a beginner?

A 16-ounce bottle of Titebond II Premium. It passes ANSI Type II water resistance, Titebond states it is FDA-approved for indirect food contact, and it sets fast enough that an unstressed joint can come out of the clamps in thirty minutes to an hour. That one bottle covers indoor furniture, shop fixtures, covered outdoor work and cutting boards. Buy Titebond III instead if the project will get wet or you want a longer open time.

Titebond II vs Titebond III - which should I buy?

Titebond II is water-resistant (ANSI Type II), has a 3-5 minute open time and applies above 55°F. Titebond III is waterproof (ANSI/HPVA Type I), has an 8-10 minute open time and applies above 47°F, but it costs more per ounce and dries a light brown line that shows on pale woods. Both are approved for indirect food contact. Buy II as a default; buy III for anything that gets wet, for cutting boards if you can, or for a glue-up with many parts.

Is Gorilla Wood Glue as good as Titebond?

On the specifications the maker publishes, Gorilla Wood Glue is a close match for Titebond II: ANSI/HPVA Type II water resistance, indirect-food-contact compliance stated by the maker once cured, a 20-30 minute clamp time and a 24-hour cure, and a natural tan color with no foaming. Its gaps are that Gorilla publishes no open time and states a narrower 55-75°F application range. Make sure you buy the yellow wood glue, not the brown foaming Gorilla Original, which is a polyurethane and behaves completely differently.

Is Elmer's wood glue good enough for woodworking?

For an indoor first project, yes. Elmer's Carpenter's Wood Glue Max is rated by the maker for interior and exterior use, resists heat, mold and mildew, and is sandable, paintable and water cleanup. What the listing does not state is an open time, a clamp time, a minimum application temperature or an ANSI water-resistance class, and no food-contact approval is stated. For a cutting board or a cold garage we would choose a glue that publishes those numbers.

What wood glue is safe for cutting boards?

Titebond's own FAQ says Titebond III and Titebond II have both been approved for indirect food contact and are the glues it recommends for cutting boards. Gorilla states its wood glue complies with FDA 21 CFR 175.105 for indirect food contact once cured. Titebond Original states no such approval and is not water-resistant, so do not use it on a board. Whichever you use, the board still needs a food-safe oil finish, not a film finish.

Is Titebond III really waterproof?

It passes the ANSI/HPVA Type I water-resistance specification, which is the standard people mean by waterproof, and Titebond describes it as the first one-part, water cleanup wood glue proven waterproof. Its own page also says it is not for continuous submersion, use below the waterline, or structural and load-bearing applications. So it is right for outdoor furniture, cutting boards and anything that gets rained on or washed - not for a boat hull.

How long should I clamp a wood glue joint?

Titebond's FAQ recommends clamping an unstressed joint for thirty minutes to an hour and a stressed joint for 24 hours, and not stressing any new joint for at least 24 hours. Gorilla states 20-30 minutes in the clamps and a 24-hour cure. If you are unsure whether a joint is stressed, leave the clamps on longer; an extra hour never hurts.

What is the minimum temperature for wood glue?

It depends on the bottle, and the maker means the glue, the air and the wood. Titebond states above 50°F for Original, Quick & Thick and hide glue, above 55°F for Titebond II, and above 47°F for Titebond III. Gorilla states 55-75°F for its wood glue. Below the minimum a PVA chalks - the joint looks fine and fails. In a cold garage, bring the boards and the bottle indoors the night before and glue up early in the day.

Does wood glue go bad?

Titebond states a 24-month shelf life in a sealed bottle stored at 75°F, and its FAQ says Original and Titebond II usually stay usable beyond that. Its PVAs are stated freeze-thaw stable, and thickened glue can be restored by shaking. If a bottle has turned stringy, lumpy or smells sour, replace it - a new 16-ounce bottle costs less than the wood in a failed project.

Should I buy a gallon of wood glue?

Not as a beginner. A first year of boxes, shelves and a workbench uses less glue than you expect, and a gallon will thicken, sour or freeze before it is empty. Buy the 16-ounce bottle, keep it indoors with the cap on and the tip wiped, and if you later decant from a larger jug, use a refillable applicator bottle so the jug stays sealed.

Sources

  • Titebond — Titebond II Premium Wood Glue product pageCross-linking polyvinyl acetate. Application temperature above 55°F; open assembly time 3-5 minutes and total assembly time 10-15 minutes at 70°F/50% RH; passes ANSI Type II water resistance; "U.S. FDA approved for indirect food contact (cutting boards)"; dried film translucent yellow; shelf life 24 months. Not for continuous submersion, below the waterline, or structural or load-bearing use. Item 5004 is the 16 oz bottle (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Titebond — Titebond III Ultimate Wood Glue product page"The first one-part, water cleanup wood glue ever offered that is proven waterproof" — passes the ANSI/HPVA Type I water-resistance specification. Application temperature above 47°F; open assembly time 8-10 minutes and total assembly time 20-25 minutes at 70°F/50% RH; FDA approved for indirect food contact (cutting boards); dried film light brown; bond strength 4,000 psi on hard maple at room temperature. Same submersion and structural limits as Titebond II. Item 1414 is the 16 oz bottle (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Titebond — Titebond Original Wood Glue product pageAliphatic resin emulsion. Application temperature above 50°F; open assembly time 4-6 minutes and total assembly time 10-15 minutes at 70°F/50% RH; dried film translucent; bond strength 3,600 psi on hard maple. "Not recommended for exterior use or where moisture is likely", and no food-contact approval is stated. Item 5064 is the 16 oz bottle (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Titebond — Titebond Quick & Thick Multi-Surface Glue product pageApplication temperature above 50°F; open assembly time 3-5 minutes and total assembly time 10-15 minutes at 70°F/50% RH; viscosity 36,500 cps; dries clear; fills small gaps; for wood, pottery, ceramic, stone, glass, fabric and leather. "Not recommended for exterior use or where moisture is likely" — interior projects only. Item 2404 is the 16 oz bottle (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Titebond — Titebond Genuine (Liquid) Hide Glue product pageCovers items 5012 (4 oz), 5013 (8 oz), 5014 (16 oz) and 5017. Ready to use with "no mixing, heating or stirring"; application temperature above 50°F; open assembly time 10 minutes and total assembly time 20-30 minutes at 70°F/50% RH; excellent sandability and creep resistance; its "sensitivity to moisture allows for easy disassembly of parts". Not for exterior use or where moisture is likely, and not structural (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Titebond — Frequently asked questionsClamping: "we recommend clamping an unstressed joint for thirty minutes to an hour. Stressed joints need to be clamped for 24 hours", and "not stressing the new joint for at least 24 hours". Shelf life stated as two years, with Original and II usually usable beyond it; thickened glue is restored by shaking. Titebond III and Titebond II "have both been approved for indirect food contact" and are the glues recommended for cutting boards. Oily species such as teak, cedar and redwood should be planed, jointed or sanded shortly before gluing (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Titebond — Glossary of adhesive termsChalking: "Chalky white appearance of a layer of glue which has dried too cold. A glue which dries below this critical 'chalk point' does not knit together properly and the resulting bond is likely to fail." Open assembly time: "Period of assembly time when the adhesive film is exposed to the air." Clamp time: "The period of time required for a joint to gain enough strength to permit it to be removed from pressure with no decrease in long-term strength" (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Titebond (Woodbond Adhesives, the Australian distributor) — ANSI/HPVA Type II water resistance: wood glues"Type II testing is a soak test, involving cutting the 150 x 150mm glued block assemblies into 50 x 125mm specimens, soaking them for 4 hours, then baking in a 120°F oven for 19 hours. This is repeated for a total of three cycles, and the bonds must not de-laminate to pass the Type II specification." Type I is described as the "USA 4 hour boil test", called for when substantial moisture is a concern (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Gorilla Glue — Gorilla Wood Glue product pageClamp time 20-30 minutes at room temperature, 24-hour cure; passes ANSI/HPVA Type II, "not recommended for continual water exposure"; indoor or outdoor "under covered area"; application temperature 55° to 75°F; dries a natural tan; sandable and paintable. "Once cured, Gorilla Wood Glue complies with FDA #CFR21 175.105 for indirect food contact and can be used on projects such as salad bowls and cutting boards." No open time is published (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • USDA Forest Products Laboratory — Wood Handbook (FPL-GTR-190)The U.S. government reference on wood as an engineering material (accessed July 24, 2026)

Keep reading